Yahoo! Featured now at the Farmers Markets.  

A hearty welcome comes to the beautiful little tender green summer squash known as Zucchini. It also comes along with those delicious yellow blossoms! 

The beauties you see in the picture above and on the main header are from my garden! I've got a great crop coming in this year. I had some sautéed last night and it was absolutely scrumptious!! 


Feature Guest Blog Writer Today

Author: Zachariah Zucchini

Subject: Autobiography

 

I come from the cucurbitaceae family. Botanically, I'm a fruit that is usually always used and thought of as a vegetable. My seeds, skin, flesh, and blossoms are all edible.

You'll find me eaten raw in salads, on veggie platters, in smoothies and more.

When cooked, you’ll find I have many personas that are often breaded and fried, steamed, boiled, broiled, roasted, sautéed, grilled, stuffed (blossoms and zucchini), added to soups, stews, breads, cakes, muffins, frittatas, patties and the list continues!

Why not invite me to take center stage on your next veggie platter or panini sandwich?

I’m rich with fiber, copper, manganese, vitamins C, B6, and K, phosphorus, potassium, and folate.

I’m also a pretty good source of vitamins A, B1, B2, and B3, zinc, omega-3 fat, pantothenic acid, calcium, iron, choline and, even some protein!


Don’t Peel Me Bro!

My skin and insides are proven to be loaded with incredible amounts of antioxidants that lower your risk for certain types of cancer, eye diseases, chronic disease, and promote healthy cell growth.

Your heart beats with appreciation when it gets all the potassium I offer.

Besides being beautiful and oh so tasty, my blossoms or flowers, provide potassium, vitamin A, folate, and some great amounts of vitamin C.

SHHHH! Don’t tell my adult kids this.

When they were little  I added shredded zucchini to their healthy fettuccine Alfredo!

They thought the green tiny ends were parsley pieces!!!

 

Your eyeballs will be glowing with health because of the amounts of carotenoids, especially lutein and zeaxanthin, I give them to fight off disease.



I can help maintain a healthy insulin response and blood glucose level in the human body with all of the pectin (water-soluble fiber), B-vitamins, zinc, and magnesium I have.

 

Many people are using spiralizers to use me for spaghetti noodles and/or slicing me lengthwise to use as lasagna noodles.

Look how many calories you save and more nutrients you get by using zoodles (zucchini noodles) in place of whole-wheat pasta. It’s a win in all areas.

One Cup Whole-Wheat Spaghetti Noodles

One Cup Whole-Wheat Spaghetti Noodles

One Cup Raw Zucchini With Skin On

One Cup Raw Zucchini With Skin On


 

 

That’s the percentage of water I am and why I’m so low calorie!

 

 


Thank you for inviting me to tell you a little bit about myself. I would love to stop over some time. Try the resources below to give me a try.

 

Resources:

Allrecipes – Zucchini Patties: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/13941/zucchini-patties/

Food Network – Squash Blossoms: http://blog.foodnetwork.com/healthyeats/2010/07/12/market-watch-squash-blossoms/

Food Network – Our Bets Zucchini Recipes: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/photos/our-best-zucchini-recipes

Fruits & Veggies More Matters – 10 Ways To Enjoy Zucchini: http://www.fruitsandveggiesmorematters.org/top-10-ways-to-enjoy-zucchini

Good Housekeeping – 30+ Healthy & Delicious Zucchini Recipes: http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/food-recipes/g562/zucchini-recipes/?

Leitesculinaria – Squach Blossom Quesadillas: http://leitesculinaria.com/96315/recipes-squash-blossom-quesadillas.html

PDX Parent – 15 Kid-Friendly Zucchini Recipes: http://www.pdxparent.com/15-kid-friendly-zucchini-recipes/

The Parsley Thief – Zucchini Blossom Fritters: http://www.theparsleythief.com/2011/08/zucchini-blossom-fritters.html

University of IL Extension – Summer Squash with squash blossom recipe: https://extension.illinois.edu/veggies/ssquash.cfm

Just a Taste – Zucchin Noodle Spiralizer Recipes: https://www.justataste.com/zucchini-noodle-spiralizer-recipes/

Video – Loyala Health - Baked Zucchini Fries: https://www.facebook.com/LoyolaHealth/videos/10155091208600559/

 

2 Comments